top of page


1-800 NEW FUNK




2. Hollywood

3. Love Sign

4. If Eye Love U 2Night

5. Color

6. 2Gether

7. Standing At The Altar

8. You Will Be Moved

9. 17

10. A Woman's Gotta Have It

11. MPLS Reprise

Happy March! You know what time it is! Here is the next SPOTLIGHT ALBUM of 2018!

1-800 NEW FUNK, released in August of 1995, was actually a compilation album produced and mostly written by Prince. The album features Prince with an array of many other artists at the time including but not limited to: Nona Gaye, The Steeles, The New Power Generation, Mavis Staples, the list goes on and on. Being released during the now infamous dispute with Warner Bros., songs like 'Love Sign' were credited to artists other than Prince.

'Love Sign' was a duet between Prince and Nona Gaye. Ultimately because of the dispute with Warner Bros., Gaye was credited as the main artist.

The album failed to chart on the US Billboard 200 but, thealbum did reach number 45 on the Billboard R&B Chart.

Fun Fact!

The album released 3 singles: 'MPLS', 'Love Sign', and 'Standing At The Altar.'

Spotlight Albums change monthly and feature multiple songs from the album on the website's music player. Every day the Princestachat will offer up some interesting facts and photos from the album and it's dedicated era. Check them out on the Official Princestachat Social Media Channels!

To learn more about the album or to buy a copy of your own, please visit:

for info:

to buy:

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page